St. Louis DUI Attorney

Available 24/7

Free Consultations

314.312.0861

Frequently Asked DUI Questions

Get Answers from an Affordable St. Louis Defense Lawyer

When you get charged with a DUI, it is natural to feel frightened, confused, and frustrated. You most likely have many questions about your situation and how you can get the most effective legal defense. Our affordable St. Louis DUI defense attorney is here to clear up any concerns that you might after about your situation by providing answers to some of the most common questions we get about DUI or DWI in Missouri. Contact us as any time to get more information.

  • What Is the Difference Between DUI & DUID?

    A DUI or DWI in Missouri deals strictly with operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol. DUID is used for drivers who were affected by drugs while they were driving. The penalties and defense strategies differ greatly between these two charges, and it is in your best interest to consult with an attorney right away if you are facing either.
  • What Is the Legal Limit for BAC in Missouri?

    BAC, or blood alcohol concentration, describes how much alcohol is in the bloodstream. If you are found operating a vehicle with a BAC that is .08% or more, you have exceeded the legal limit. If you are a commercial driver the legal limit is .04%, and if you are under the age of 21 the limit is .02%.
  • What Are the Penalties for a DUI?

    DUIs are harshly punished in the State of Missouri. For a first offense, you may be facing up to 6 months in jail, a license suspension of 90 days, fines of up to $500, and the possible installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID). For second and third offenses, these penalties become considerably more severe.
  • What Is an IID?

    IID is short for Ignition Interlock Device. This is a tool that can be installed into the ignition area of a vehicle, and it resembles a breathalyzer. The driver is required to breathe into the device in order to start the car. If the device detects a certain amount of alcohol on the breath of the driver, the car will not start.
  • What Is a "Lookback Period?"

    DUI less than five years ago, will be considered as a second offense if you are convicted again. However, if you were convicted of a DUI over five years before, and you are charged with a DUI again, it will only be considered a first offense. If you have two prior offenses committed at any time, the third one is a felony.
  • How Do I Get a Free Consultation with a DUI Attorney?

    At First Defense D.U.I. / Traffic Law, our affordable St. Louis DUI defense lawyer offers free consultations to all prospective clients. Simply call us today to request a meeting with our team and we can help you take action in a way that defends your best interest.

Call (314) 312-0861 now to get in contact with our firm.